BEEP 2016 | Swansea | 5th August – 3rd September

BEEP Wales International Painting Prize 2016

Preview – Friday 5th August 2016

Exhibition Continues until 3rd September

Open Tuesday – Saturday 11-4pm

Swansea College Of Art

Admission Free

BEEP 2016: Catalogue (external link)

Reviews and Articles

Jacksons Art Blog Article

South Wales Evening Post Review

New Welsh Review

Beep (Biennial exhibition of painting) is Wales’s only large scale contemporary international painting exhibition taking place at different venues every two years. This year will see the main Beep exhibition tour from Swansea to Wrexham and include satellite exhibitions, events and residencies in and around Swansea, Wrexham and Cardiff.

This year’s theme ‘This must be the place I never wanted to leave’ aims to explore notions of perception, memory and belonging grounded in a place, space or time.

The evocative realization of this ‘place’ evokes abstract perceptions. Psychological impressions, physical memory, re-imagined and reconstituted fragments develop from deep felt multi- sensory experiences.

The recognition of ‘the place I never wanted to leave’ (and may have left, by will or necessity) becomes a profound awareness of the elusive nature of objective reality.  In longing for another place and time suggests a longing to restore totality of being.  In the same way a smell, a sound or a sight momentarily transport us to the centre of an experience in place, so can the image.

The winner will be announced at the opening of Beep Swansea on August 5th and will be awarded with £1000 and a solo exhibition with elysiumgallery in 2017. The people’s prize winner will be announced at the end of the Beep Wrexham exhibition.

The exhibiting artists:

Susan Absolon, Sinead Aldridge, Kayde Anobile, Tom Banks, Pip Barrett, Jo Berry, Heather Brammeier, Philip Cheater, Jenny Chisholm, Minyoung Choi, Michelle Conway, Daniel Crawshaw, Paul Crook, Eugenia Cuellar, Gordon Dalton, Lara Davies, Lisa Denyer, Tom Down, Heather Eastes, Andrew Ekins, Louise Giovanelli, Gabriela Giroletti, Penny Hallas, Sky Kim, Ilona Kiss (image), Arron Kuiper, Paraic Leahy, Susanna Lisle, Catrin Llwydd, Jaya Mansberger, Enzo Marra, Mary McCrae, Anna McNeil, Liam O’Connor, Alan Rees-Baynes, Andre Stitt, Eifion Sven-Myer, Mircea Teleaga, Christopher Twigg, Richard Twose, Francisco Valdes, Lois Wallace, Tim Warren, Ian Watson, Laura Welsman, Fran Williams, Richard Williams, Camilla Wilson, Tong Zhang

Selector: Jonathan Powell

Judges: Shani Rhys-James & Jonathan Watkins

Beep Swansea: 5th Aug – 3rd September, Swansea College of Art

Beep Wrexham: 7th Oct – 5th November, Undegun, This Project, Wrexham

Beep Cardiff: Nov 16th – 23rd December, Arcade Cardiff